Because Eternity Is More Than Forever (An Ode To Jade)

Dear Jade,

Lifetimes and Colours have been swallowed by time
with them, the pain and promises that came
and torrents of rain still remind me of what is mine,
though the World conspires to make me forget each day.
Like old pictures that may exist; somewhere
and that lost stairwell in that broken school,
like sunsets, laughter and windswept hair
and the bright fire that could only be you.

And the scars that we have, have long since faded
and with it the deep despair and shame,
and we have gone past being pretty and jaded
and almost mastered this tedious game.
But, I am lonely without you here
even though your flame kisses me so.
The warmth has it’s own sweet allure
But my friend,
by your eyes and promises I want to be burnt like before.

And Pittsville may have the Rain and the Sea
but it was lacklustre without your beautiful smile.
It was just a pretty box of empty dreams
without you there to make it shine.
Now we no longer are parts of Before
and Today has us no longer innocent
and yet the loyalty I so long ago swore
makes me bleed my love once again, unashamed.

We may be fading dreams and lost stars
we may have been altered by time,
but the words I said and didn’t, my love
have bound me to your fate for life.

Our love was never meant to be simple
you let me love you like you were mine,
I belonged to you without belonging
and with you, I laughed and bled and cried.
And you think I don’t need you.
you think even without you I’ll be whole,
you think I was meant to love the world
but only for you would I sell my soul.
And sometimes I think I already have;
gift-wrapped it and set it free
for the Devil to find and do what he likes
on an ocean of blood and  fierce loyalty.
The world may point fingers and whisper
and the weak me will pick up the sword
to protect what is mine; what is ours
even when I no longer have the right words.
Because the Fire that you are, that I love
is the only thing that is mine
in this world of lies, half truths and  dirty secrets
you are the only real thing that survived.

And I love when you want me to show you I care
because I never run out of ways to show you how much.
the Colours and Joy that explode when we collide;
even the envious World is too afraid to touch.

Yours Always
Mave

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Priestess of Q
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 16:57:49

    Reply

  2. The Priestess of Q
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 23:26:29

    This is my favorite part:
    “I belonged to you without belonging
    and with you, I laughed and bled and cried.
    And you think I don’t need you.
    you think even without you I’ll be whole,
    you think I was meant to love the world
    but only for you would I sell my soul.
    And sometimes I think I already have;
    gift-wrapped it and set it free
    for the Devil to find and do what he likes
    on an ocean of blood and fierce loyalty.”

    Awwwwwww! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Vishal Bheeroo

Scripting the story of life

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

Jostling for Relevance.

Or the cameo I landed in my own life.

A Moment Seized

Liam Connolly

This porcelain sky

Chaotic thoughts and fragile words.

malleable art

MAL-ART is about hitting that sweet, sweet spot as well as a sour nerve or two--- POPPED BUBBLEGUM, HARDCORE JAWBREAKERS & WORDS FROM ME TO YOU

joe2poetry

Poetry from a Dublin Scientist

A Faded Romantic's Notebook

Otherwise the night is too dark

Eric Jordan Campbell

it's better if you dont understand. The Cycle.

Liz&Rio

The Musings of Liz and her Dachshund Rio

A Sick and Twisted Perspective

"the mind is its own place, and in itself can make a heav'n of hell, a hell of heav'n."

JoeOsseus

Sticking To The Status Joe

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

